femmecomplexe

Women in the work force

In Around the World on January 18, 2011 at 8:23 pm

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/18/business/global/18screen.html?pagewanted=1&ref=technology

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything, especially as I wasn’t sure I was going to keep this going, since I only started this for my blogging class. However, since I enjoy discussing issues pertaining to women, keeping this blog seems like a good place for me write about articles I find or discussion I have with people related to feminism that interest me. 

I found this article while perusing the NYtimes website, and it’s about the increasing number of women in the Japanese work force, or at least the hope for it, looking at Toshiba as an example.  It’s amazing that a developed and modern country, at the forefront of technological innovations still, for the most part, ignores women as vital components to the work force.   However, perhaps this is about to change, especially as Japan has been falling behind as the leading Asian force and China increased in power.  Using women in the work force could greatly improve their economy, according to the article, and at times like this, such changes should be welcome. 

Anyways, give the article a read; it’s mention of females within Japan is interesting, as is the introduction of 3-D TV minus those awful glasses.  That’s right, glasses-less 3D! I’m not sure if that’ll be marketable, but that’s the job of researcher, Rieko Fukushima (in charge of the research team).  She seems to be successful so far.

Leave a Reply

