femmecomplexe

The Martyn Reaction: male friends part 1

In Anecdotes on September 13, 2010 at 2:31 am

             Before I started blogging I told some of my friends about it, and it was interesting to see the different reactions three of my guy friends had.  I will break these descriptions down into three separate posts. 

            The first reaction was Martyn’s.  Four of us, three girls including me, and Martyn were eating frozen yogurt at Spoons.  I told them that I was in a blogging class, which they thought was very cool, and when I told them the topic was feminism the girls became excited, wanting to read it.  Martyn didn’t say anything initially, but then looked at me and asked: “So, why feminism? Is that even an issue anymore?” I laughed at him, at his cluelessness – for not really being aware of the issue.  I responded that of course it’s still an issue; human rights are always an issue.  I told him it wasn’t the so called ‘bra-burner’ type of feminism I was referring to….he was thinking of feminism in terms of one of the initial movements:

  1. Emergence of women’s rights organizations (1840s)
  2. Women’s Suffrage movement (early 19th century)
  3. Women’s Liberation (1960s-1970s)

            And though there is no actual movement any more, the consciousness of feminism is still prevalent or at least should be, as we have not yet reached equality in the U.S. and definitely not in many other countries around the world. 

            Martyn represents the portion of society that is unaware of feminism – the idea of women’s rights as an issue because perhaps, they already think women have equal rights, don’t care, or are more traditionalist and believe men and women have specific gender roles they should stay within.  “Ya, but would you want to work all day?” he later asked. To which one of the girls responded: “We want to choice.” As Bella Abzug once said, “The test for whether or not you can hold a job should not be the arrangement of your chromosomes.”

Leave a Reply

