femmecomplexe

What is Feminism?

In Anecdotes on September 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm

            First off I want to explain my blog name.  I chose femme complexe because it represents the general theme I wish to follow –how people approach the topic of feminism, whether they do so consciously or not.  For my purpose, it can be translated as, ‘complex woman’ or ‘female complex’. 

           The term ‘complex’ is often applied to woman.  On its own ‘complex’ means; complicated, or difficult to understand, and according to www.dictionary.com, made up of many interconnected parts.  However, when applied to women, it seems to take on a whole new meaning, it suddenly becomes a pejorative label, often pertaining to the stereotype that women are overly emotional and hysterical (another word I will discuss later on).

           ‘Female complex’ is a play off of ‘inferiority complex’ – which is a feeling of inadequacy or lack of confidence.  It is often the view that woman have low self – esteem, something that the media industry helps to foster and even create.  I had a guy friend who was discussing, well…more like disparaging Twilight, saying that there were a thousand descriptions at least on Edward’s chest, (which is true, but this isn’t a critique on the Twilight series), while Bella could fit the description of any girl: average looking, insecure…after being initially irritated by this generalization, I was struck by the way he was saying this – without even thinking, and not even being aware that maybe he was offending women at all – except of course those who were Twilight fans.

            I know that everyone harbors stereotypes and generalizations, we’re all human and it’s difficult not to.  My purpose in writing this blog is to shed light on some of them, to simply bring awareness to the issue, and hopefully you the reader, will consider the way you think.  Not just about women’s rights but about everyone’s.  A quote I like attributed to Susan B. Anthony states: “It was we, the people; not we, the white male citizens; nor yet we, the male citizens; but we, the whole people, who formed the Union…. Men, their rights and nothing more; women, their rights and nothing less.”

            For me, feminism is simply a movement that desires women to have equal rights as men. And no, I don’t wish to be a man – God no – I love being feminine, but feminine on my own terms.  I will discuss the idea of femininity later on in greater detail, so for now I’ll leave it with saying, as a female, femininity is whatever you do that makes YOU feel feminine, and not some ideal that other people create.  For remember, “to be equal does not mean to have to be the same” – Eva Burrows.

Leave a Reply

